Important Updates! (Don’t Restart Your Computer)

Updates

It’s been awhile since I have updated personally on what’s been going on.  I started this blog as a semi-personal update blog and a place to slap all my writings, but it has grown a bit more beyond that and I wanted to share some really cool updates.

First of all, as I mentioned in an earlier post from January, I have been spending the better part of the past 10-ish months as the church planting intern at Appleton Gospel in Appleton, WI.  It has been an incredible experience with some great chances to preach, counsel, lead, and learn.  David, our lead pastor, is an exceptional leader and friend that I have enjoyed spending time with and learning from.  As of last week Friday, we had our follow-up meeting on the assessment process and now approved to church plant with the EFCA!  +4 Church Planting Powers!  Tina and I are both very excited to continue on this journey towards planting a church, and you can now expect some regular updates on us, where we will be planting, and what’s next and how you can pray and help!  We would love to hear from you and , Lord willing, join us in planting the gospel in a community of the Fox Valley!

Second, since I last did a personal update on here, Tina’s cake decorating and cupcake business has exploded!  I have always reaped the insane benefits of her baking mastery, but things have gone crazy around here.  She now has a cupcake club for the local Appleton and Fox Valley area and is delivering cupcakes to a bunch of people twice a month.  She is designing and decorating the cake for my brother Nick’s wedding in October, and I couldn’t be more excited for the future.  The dream is to one day have a brick and mortar location, but one step at a time to that goal!

Also, she has been writing as of late, as well.  I shared one of her posts here last week, and I wanted to highlight going to her blog to read all her posts.  She typically writes once a week on topics that personally relate to her life as a wife and mother, but is honest and true to the struggles of life as well as the joys.  She writes at OUR BIT OF CHAOS.  I love her and I love her writing, and I am positive you will love her writing, as well.

Lastly, after some conversations I had over the past week and culminating on Tuesday night with Mikey Fissel of Reel World Theology, I have officially joined Reel World Theology as a content creator for weekly posts on the site as well as sometimes co-host for the Reel World Theology Podcast.  Fizz contacted me shortly after I started Movie Church, which I posted about last week, and it made total sense for the two of us to combine our like-minded goals and merge what I was starting with Movie Church into what Fizz has already been doing with Reel World Theology.  Movie Church is no more but it is new beginnings with new friends at Reel World Theology.

What Fizz has done with Reel World Theology is fantastic and I am super excited to join him in helping people to redeem entertainment and see the reflection of God’s character in the movies and TV shows we watch.  You can read that daily content starting September 16th and I will link to where to find that content below.  Thanks for supporting me and Movie Church!  The journey is not over, it now has a different name.

Thanks for all who care and now that some pieces are being put in place, I will be writing on ministry, culture, movies, etc. on here a bit more often than I did over our busy summer.

 

Links to Stuff I Talked About:

Appleton Gospel

Forest Lakes District of the EFCA

CrabbCakes (Tina’s Bakery on Facebook)

Our Bit of Chaos

Reel World Theology (website)

Reel World Theology on Facebook

Reel World Theology on Twitter

Leave a Reply

