5 Summer Movies to See With Your Sweetie

I love movies.  I live and breathe the narratives, stories, and themes of the movies that I see.  I am the nerd that brings a notebook to the movie theater because I want to write down good lines, important themes, and general notes about the movie I am watching.  My wife, however, does not share the same sentiment.  She goes to movies that she wants to see and she is the one who called me a “nerd” when I bring my notebook.

Since you might suffer the same dilemma as me and will be unable to see the new Godzilla movie with your significant other, as a public service to you, I offer five movies that you and your sweetie can enjoy this summer.

What If – opens on August 1st

WhatIf__140313192240-275x202It seems to come around every year that someone declares that the Rom-Com is dead.  This summer might see a bit of a resurrection of sorts with What If and They Came Together coming out.  Both of them look really solid but this one I really want Tina and I to go to.  Starring Daniel Radcliffe (aka Harry Potter), Zoe Kazan (The Pretty One), and Adam Driver (Girls and STAR WARS!!!), this movie is about friendship, relationships, and the tension of wondering what if the love of your life is your best friend.  Consider Tina and I there.  And you can’t go wrong with a movie starring Harry Potter and the rumored bad guy for Star Wars: Episode VII, can you?

Maleficent is out in theaters May 30th

Mal

Everything is lining up for this movie to be disney’s big splash of Summer 2014.  Angelina Jolie is a crazy spot on match for the Maleficent of Sleeping Beauty fame.  A quick two minute trailer shows the story we are all familiar with (and they even say so in the trailer, ugh) and shows battle scenes between Aurora’s kingdom and Maleficent’s magical forces (including some serious Ent ripoffs, but who doesn’t do that?  I’m looking at you Aronofsky!).  I can see lots of people lining up to see this and being a great movie to take the wonderful Mrs. to go see, but I ultimately think the movie will be little more than Angelina Jolie and some CGI battles.  I’ll see it for the ent ripoffs and battle scenes but stay because I will go on free popcorn night.

How To Train Your Dragon 2 should be out now but we have to wait until June 13th

hr_How_to_Train_Your_Dragon_2_6Besides maybe Guardians of the Galaxy, I am super excited for this movie!  How to Train Your Dragon was an incredible success and my whole family, myself particularly, loved the first movie.  Needless to say, the second installment looks like it will not disappoint.  Dreamworks is not going for a terrible re-hash (*cough* Shrek 2 & 3) but is telling a whole new story with our characters all growed up!  This is one I am sure I do not need to convince Tina to go see, and we can take the kids!  +4 Awesome Sauce!

They Came Together – in theaters June 27th

That tagline is just pure awful.  Aside from that, this movie, despite an early critical collective “meh”, looks like the perfect movie for my wife and I.  It stars two of the funniest people around (Amy Poehler and Paul Rudd) and that is pretty much good enough for the both of us.  If Paul Rudd can channel any of his Mike Hannigan-esque energy for this role I will be more than satisfied (seriously, he was hysterical on Friends).

Boyhood – releases July 11th

This might be the wildcard in all this.  Richard Linklater is a weird dude, but he has made some great movies (Dazed and Confused, School of Rock, Waking Life) along with some not so memorable titles.  However, this concept is incredible and is worthy of a view for its content and unique story.  It  is filmed over the course of 12 years and follows a young boy, Mason (Ellar Coltrane) from age 5 to 18.  It explores the travails and life of a family and raising a boy in the 12st century.  This concept and story is so cool and has received some early high critical acclaim and could get Linklater some serious accolades.  Definitely worth the ticket and you may just shed a tear or two together.

Now you know what to see this summer.  And knowing is half the battle…

 

Make sure to follow 13Past1 on Facebook or follow Josh on Twitter to get updates on all the posts!

One thought on “5 Summer Movies to See With Your Sweetie

Leave a Reply

