Launching the IMDb 250

I have always loved movies.  I am a self-admitted Star Wars geek and lover of movies.  One of the persistent memories of my youth is whenever I took a sick day from school, I would curl up on the couch and get well by watching the Trilogy (the original, you know, the GOOD one).  Nothing chases away the stomach flu like watching Luke take out an AT-AT with his lightsaber and a thermal detonator.

When I got a bit older, my friends and I banded together through the movies we watched.  I remember watching Donnie Darko, Fight Club, The Matrix, Trainspotting, Pulp Fiction, and tons of other great movies for the first time in the basement of my best friend Luke’s house.  Many a countless nights were spent ingesting cinematic classics and playing “pinger-ponger” until we had to go home for work or school.    
I’ve never lost my love for movies, but my appreciation and enjoyment of them has certainly changed.  When I was younger, I enjoyed them on a much more base level.  It was like drinking semi to not-so-good beer just because you wanted to ingest as much as possible.  Now, I enjoy them more like a great micro-brew or a really nice wine.  I savor the textures, the flavors, and I turn over every stone to find more nuances and meaning in what I am watching.  Today movies are much more of a journey than just an experience, and it is much more exhilarating and satisfying to watch when I am turning it over and digging deeper.  
That being said, there is still a large breadth and depth of the movie going experience I have never plumbed.  I find it a slight regret, but I am resolute.  Which is why, after consulting with some very important experts, like my wife, my sister, and Nate Crites, I am taking up the challenge of watching and blogging through the IMDb 250 in 2 years.  That’s 2.5 movies a week for two years, .357 movies a day, or even .015 movies per hour!  I know it sounds crazy (not really, but throw me a bone), but I believe it is doable.  I am hoping that some of you will join me along the way, offer feedback, and interact in order to create a fun two year experience! 
So sit back, grab some popcorn, a Coke (Diet if you are my wife) and view movie history with me for the next two years!  It all starts next  week, and I’m taking suggestions for what to watch first.  
Happy viewing!
Josh

The link to the IMDb Top 250 is right HERE

Leave a Reply

